Catherine Fife MPP, Waterloo

Government of Ontario

NDP Caucus Honours Ontarians for their Work to End Racism

Published on May 30, 2016

QUEEN’S PARK — NDP Leader Andrea Horwath honoured Ontarians yesterday for their contributions towards eliminating racism in Ontario at the 19th Annual J.S. Woodsworth Awards.

“Award recipients have demonstrated outstanding leadership and commitment to human rights, equity and the fight to end racial discrimination. Together, they have worked for the rights of all people in Ontario to live with respect and dignity.  They have made important contributions to the province in their work to eliminate racism, by fighting prejudice and hatred based on colour, race, or ethnic origin,” Horwath said.

The J.S. Woodsworth awards are presented annually to individuals and organizations from across Ontario for significant contributions towards the goal of eliminating racial discrimination in our society.

The awards are named after J.S. Woodsworth, the first leader of the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (CCF), the forerunner of Ontario’s NDP.  Woodsworth fought against racial and religious discrimination in Canada, and stood up for the right of all Canadians to vote, regardless of skin colour or socioeconomic status.

“J.S. Woodsworth represents our shared goal of ensuring all of Ontario’s communities participate fully and equitably in building a better future, and making this province a better place to live for everyone,” Horwath said.

The recipients of the 2016 J.S. Woodsworth Awards are:


Pura Velasco (Toronto)


Anjum Sultana (Toronto)
Pascale Diverlus (Toronto)
Vanessa Gray (Aamjiwnaang, Sarnia)
Lindsay Gray  (Aamjiwnaang, Sarnia)


Pamela Palmater (Toronto)
Rima Berns-McGown (Toronto)
Hodan Nayaleh (Toronto) 


Desmond Cole (Toronto)
Janet Smylie (Toronto)
Rodney Diverlus (Toronto)
Shawn Johnston (Waterloo) ‎
Gabrielle Fayant (Ottawa)
Farheen Khan (Mississauga)


Taibu Community Health Centre (Toronto)
Radyo Migrante (Toronto)
Across Boundaries (Toronto)